Ignorant first timer. Toyota Sienna towing trailer

Stephen2

I have no knowledge of any of this and no one to teach me.

Recently visiting a campground I noticed the many RV's and travel trailers that people had. It made me think about getting something like this for the family.

I am interested in small travel trailer if I can and if not a pop up. I am driving a '01 Toyota Sienna. It does not have a hitch therefore I assume it does not have a towing package. The manual states that the maximum gross trailer weight should not exceed 2,000 lbs.

I have 4 in my family. I was hoping for an older travel trailer. It need not be new, just functional. I would like something with a toilet and shower. This is why I would prefer the trailer and not the pop up. Maybe I am saying that all wrong... Probably.

I don't even know where to start. I thought I should start with checking on the cost of the hitch but then then I need to know what I am hauling.

Any suggestions on where to start? I'd like to try to start adding up the pieces and money involved. I could call an RV place but I don't want to have people try to be selling me stuff. I just need to know where to start.

Thanks!

C Nash

Re: Ignorant first timer. Toyota Sienna towing trailer

Welcome to the forum Stephen. Think you will have a problem finding a tt that the sienna will tow. Even one of the teardrops will pretty much overload IMO. Maybe a small pop up but I would try to stay in the 800 lb range. Remember that the towing weight will also be affected by what you have in the tow vehicle also. 2000 is not much. Think you should look into a better tow vehicle or just rent a camper to see if it's a lifestyle you and family like. Maybe a class C for trial or you may find a rental that offers a tow and TT. Good luck and remember this is just my opinion.

Kirk