poor crafstmanship

jtiguy

2008 Dutchman 38srv victory lane

This is my first new trailer and let me tell you...I am completely amazed by the poor quality craftsmanship of this unit. I don't know if it is to blame the personnel on the assembly line, the management pushing them, the quality control program, or maybe the wages limiting the people that will do the job.

I have owned several used trailers that were all quite old and expected to repair them. This one was brand new. It seams that quite a lot of people spend 40 - 70 grand and expect to repair their trailer from the time they get it home. I can say that the materials and equipment have not let me down yet but being a construction inspector by trade I can say that I am not impressed.

What I have a problem with:

The dining room slide is supposed to have a triple seal...well it does but the two flexible outer rubber seals do not even touch the slide on the top. Dealer says all that matters is the inner seal...so why do they advertise and install 3?

The linoleum in the kitchen has debris under it which will eventually wear holes.

I have had 4 water leaks so far and all on screw fittings that were not tight enough. The last one I found I had to destroy the access panel to get to the water heater because it was permanently attached and the leak was behind it.

The unit is supposed to be built to code...I don't know any code allowing water lines to be run directly over the top of the power supply and fuse panel with another one over the 12volt heater.

Had a problem with water lines freezing last winter and just found out why. The water supply to the kitchen is run outside the frame rail under the floor and hidden by a plastic tarp like material. After spending a lot of time trying to seal up the trailer I found a large section of the floor with no insulation and discovered my water lines hidden in that spot.