ROOKIE qustions

7lazy77

I am new to RV'ing & I recently purchased a well-taken care of 5th wheel camper. Just had a few questions & seeking some help. Did a little searching, found some helpful information, but still curious on a few other things. The camper is a 2002 Tahoe 28' bunk & even though it sat for 1 1/2 years, it is in VERY GOOD condition. Roof looks to be in decent condition, just dirty. So I plan on cleaning the rubber roof with a mild soap & re-caulking all seams.
My truck is a 4x4 & it sits pretty high, so the camper doesn't sit real level. Would you recommend flipping the axles or some other way (airbags?) to get the camper lifted another 3-4"?

Since the trailer sat for over a year, should I replace the battery regardless? The battery was fully-charged when I got home with the camper, but the next day it was dead (don't think I left anything on)? Went to plug it in (with the 30 amp to 15 amp adaper on) to the 120v GFI recepticle on the house & for some reason, it kept tripping the recepticle outlet on the house??? Any ideas why? I was using a cheap extension cord, could this be it?

Is one battery enough, or should I install a second one?

Sorry for all the questions, but I am sure I will have more as I go along. Thanks for your time & help!

C Nash

Re: ROOKIE qustions

What did you have on in the rv that was pulling amps? Cheap extension cord should run only lights and converter. I would replace the battery and yes 2 is better than one. Just depends on how you plan on camping. You could leave the battery cable off the neg post for a night and then see if the battery is dead. If the 5th wheel is only 3, 4 inches off probably want hurt. Might have to load a little more on front or rv to get the right tongur weight. I like the TT to be level but dont know about flipping axles. maybe some of the others can answer this. Welcome to the forum

akjimny