Running both Roof AC's on Generator

tscott

Hello. I am a newbie to RVing and a newbie to this forum.

I have a 1998 35' Georgie Boy Class A motorhome. My questionis in regard to the Roof AC units when running the generator. I used to be able to run both AC units with the generator (certain as I ran both units on the generator all the way from Orlando to Atlanta this past summer) but now only the rear unit will run on the generator. When I plug the motorhome in at a campsite, both units power on and run fine. Is there a fuse somewhere or something I can check before taking it to the dealer?

Thanks....

G

RE: Running both Roof AC's on Generator

welcome to the forums ,, ck the breakers at the genset ,, most gensets use one breaker for the house ,, and one just for the second a/c ,, post us back on what u find ;) :approve: :approve: :) :)

tscott

Re: Running both Roof AC's on Generator

Ok, dumb question...are the breakers you are refering to the same ones that are on the main fuse panel for the RV? I know there are some circuit breakers for AC 1, AC 2, microwave, etc. Is this what you are refering to or is there another set somewhere by the generator?

G

what type of genset do u have ?? usally there are breakers on the set it self ,, usally only 2 ,, but even if they are not tripped ,, flip them on and off and see how they feel ,, i have replaced many breakers that are on ,, but they are week and can't handle the load that is applied to them ,, try that ,, and post us back ,, ;) :approve: :approve: :approve:

tscott

I am pretty sure my genset is an ONAN. I will check around the genset for the breakers and let you know what I find. Thanks so much for your help and your prompt responses! :)

G