So another "CAN I TOW THIS" QUESTION!!!

KateyJ

hello, all -- I am a real newbie, have never towed anything larger than a 15 foot popup with my minivan. But, my kids and I are making the big leap and going to take to the road as soon as we can get the house sold or rented, the stuff downsized, sold, doanted and stored, and ourselves out the door.

So now I have this hulking '08 Chevy Duramax/Allison 3500 HD dually sitting in my driveway (next to the minivan, which I used to think was a really big vehicle..). I've put a deposit on a 2006 Cypress Newmar 5th wheel, about 37' long, and should pick it up within a month.

I have been all over the place online, researching GVWR, GCVWR, etc. I know I'm bumping right up against my truck's combined weight rating of 23,500 and a tow capacity of 15,900. The Chevy truck's curb weight is listed at 6694, with 5th wheel hitch (how much do they weigh?) and fully loaded it will be around 7500?

The trailer's listed approx. dry weight is 12,250 and its gross capacity is in the 16,000 range. I figure if I want to have a ten percent safety margin, we're only going to be able to have about 1,400 in propane, water and STUFF for a family of three plus dog. And that's if the truck's curb weight and the trailer's approx. dry weight are even close to what's stated.

Theoretically and in all ya'all's experience, can my one ton dually safely tow AND STOP this combo if I'm, say, at 22,000 gross combined? Keeping in mind that I am as green as it gets?

I know I need to load up the truck and get it weighed so I can see the actual GVW I'm dealing with, and I need to call the dealer holding my trailer (with a deposit) and get it weighed so I can see if the options it came with have increased the approx dry weight too much beyond that 12,250.

I also am reading that I should get exhaust brakes installed. And if so, what brand, and who does this work? I don't want to mess around with the safety and reliability of the brakes. (duh).