Suggestions

HorseMarine

I'm new to this and looking to retire and live full time on the road. My dilemma is what to buy. I want to carry my HD Road King and either tow a car or a trailer with a truck. Should I get a class A with a bike lift and tow a small car, or a 1/2 ton pickup (putting the bike in that) and then towing a decent size trailer? Any feedback is deeply appreciated.

G

it all depends on what kinda budget u have to buy ,, if i want class A ,, they make some toy haulers ,, but in the range of 100k to 500k ,, depending on what u want in them ,, some TT toy haulers will cost less ,,, but they will require a big truck to tow them ,, this is JMO ,, if it were me i would go with a upper end class A toy hauler ,, but again JMO ,, i am prone to liking a class A

akjimny

Hi HorseMarine and welcome to the RVUSA Forum. Like Rod said - it all depends on your budget. You could:

1. Get a Class A with a motorcycle lift and tow a small car (toad).

2. Get a Class A and tow a pickup (toad) with the motorcycle in the back.

3. Get a 3/4 or 1 ton pickup (1/2 ton is too small), carry the motorcycle in the back and get a bumper-tow trailer.

4. Get a 3/4 or 1 ton pickup (1/2 ton is too small), get a toy hauler trailer and put the motorcycle in the back of the trailer.

Each of these has advantages and disadvantages. Class A's are expensive. Big enough trucks are expensive. Motorcycle in the back of a toy hauler is kinda stinky in your living quarters.

If budget is no object, I'd go with the Class A, tow a truck and put the bike in the bed of the truck. I envy you your choice. Post back and let us know what you get.:):)

Steve H