What features REALLY matter?

stephs2125

Hello! I am new to RVing and this forum. My husband and I have been tent camping for 17 years. We have a 5 yr. old and we have decided to move up to the travel trailer (byassing pop ups).

We are looking in the 25 - 30 foot range (new) an example being the 2011 Shasta Rever 26 TBQB, and we are just overwhelmed with the layouts, options, extras, etc

We already have a vehicle capable of pulling the trailer.

I would so welcome your thoughts on what really is necessary vs. just nice to have vs. not worth the expense...
I don't want to throw money away on "fussy" options but want to make sure I get the necessary requirements to keep it enjoyable and maintainable for the many years I plan to own it. Also, I assume some options can be cheaper after market...

If you can point me to any other resource pages where I can get information about what the options are and what they actually mean to the RVer...

I've listenend to the sales pitches, I've toured a few models - and to hear the sales person speak - it is a dream on wheels - but how can I learn to separate the BS from the truth. I don't have any "knowledgeable" RVing friends - just a few in the used popup category so I haven't any strong resources to help guide me.

Triple E

Re: What features REALLY matter?

Hello and welcome to RVUSA. I have never owned a TT and not sure what all comes with them. A generator would be the first on my list. Large propane tanks and holding tanks. Ease of winterizing is a must. Also my wife prefers an oven over the convection oven. A separate toilet is nice, not necessary but nice.

You have came to the right place for you questions and you will get some good advice. Again welcome. :approve:

rjf7g

My number one "feature" - be able to sleep everyone without breaking down the kitchen table or rendering the living room useless!

H2H1