TRAILER TOWING

ARPDUDE

I'M NEW AT CAMPING. MY QUESTION IS : WITH A FORD F-150 SUPERCREW
(5.4 LITER ENGINE), CAN I SAFELY PULL A CAMPER WEIGHING 8000 LBS.
LOADED?
I HAVE HEARD I CAN BUT YOU KNOW THE SALESMEN WILL SAY ANYTHING TO
GET A SALE. ALSO HOW IMPORTANT IS TONGUE WEGHT?

EXCUSE MY IGNORANCE, I JUST RETIRED AND DON'T WANT TO SCREW UP.

THANKS
ARPDUDE

ARPDUDE

Vern M

TRAILER TOWING

It sounds like a lot of trailer for a smaller truck. You can get the exact towing capability of your truck from Ford if it is not shown anywhere on stickers on door posts or in the owners manual. And it is not the ability to tow that is all-important. It is your truck's ability to stop and control such a load that is equally worth very careful analysis.

Hitch weight is also imporatnt. It needs to be enough to make the load behave but not too much. The goal is 10 to 15 percent of the entire trailer weight on the hitch point.

We tow a trailer with a full size, 3/4 ton GMC conversion van. It weighs 5400 pounds and the trailer no more than 5600 loaded (4600 empty weight) to meet our van's total combined safe towing weight of 11,000 pounds.

Vern M.

C Nash

TRAILER TOWING

I agree with Vern. Does your truck have the trailer towing package? It probably will tow the 8500 but, I think you will be exceding your tow limit. Safely no, remember if you are moving you have to stop and the F150 brakes are not designed for this kind of weight.

Chelse L. Nash
fulltimer03@yahoo.com

thumbs

TRAILER TOWING

It's also important to remember that these trailers have brakes. Even if your trucks breaks may not hold the entire load it can still pull a pretty good trailer. Just make sure the trailer brakes work.

Will Daniels

TRAILER TOWING